More in news


Monday, 23 April 2018 | MYT 8:30 PM

GE14: Selangor Pribumi to contest three parliamentary, nine state seats

SHAH ALAM: Selangor Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Pribumi) will contest three parliamentary and nine state seats in GE14.

The party's state chairman Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari would be leading the charge by contesting in the Selat Klang state seat.

Eight others who are contesting the state seats are Mohd Hamizar Sulaiman (Sungai Air Tawar), Harumaini Omar (Batang Kali), Mohd Azmil Misman (Sungai Burung), Mohd Najib Itam Othman (Jeram), Mejar Datuk Abd Wahid Bidin (Kuang), Mohd Rais Zulkifli (Semenyih), Roszani Roslan (Sijangkang) and Adhif Syan Abdullah (Dengkil).

The three parliamentary seats are contested by Sungai Buloh division chief Capt (retired) Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi for Tanjong Karang, Mohd Ashyraf Basri (Sungai Besar) and Kalam Salan (Sabak Bernam).

Abdul Rashid said while Selangor Pribumi hopes to contest the 12 state seats currently held by Umno, he accepts the decision made by the Pakatan Harapan presidential council.

"There were many factors considered by the council when they made their decision.

"One of the factors was that the coalition believes that Pribumi is a new party and it may not have the manpower or machinery to contest all the 12 state seats.

"I disagree as we have up to 25,000 members in Selangor but we accept the council's decision," he said when announcing the candidates at his office in Plaza Masalam on Monday (April 23).

Abdul Rashid said to be selected as candidates is a huge responsibility and something that should not be taken for granted.

"All of us must work hard to keep the faith of the rakyat in Selangor," he added.