More in metro


Thursday, 12 July 2018 | MYT 12:00 AM

MIC rep resigns from DBKL advisory board

SETIAWANGSA MIC division chief Datuk S. Rajah is the first politically appointed member of the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) advisory board to resign.

Federal Territories Minister Khalid Abdul Samad, in a statement, said he received a copy of Rajah’s resignation letter dated July 5 that was sent to Kuala Lumpur mayor Tan Sri Mohd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz.

Khalid thanked Rajah for his magnanimous decision to relinquish his position since Barisan Nasional was no longer in power.

“This is the right attitude and honourable thing to do,’’ said Khalid.

Rajah said tendering his resignation was his way of respecting the current authority.

“It is the right thing to do, since Barisan is no longer the government.

“I am happy that during my tenure, I was able to help poor city folk receive affordable housing and find sustainable ways for them to earn a living,’’ he said.

Rajah thanked DBKL for the assistance rendered.

Khalid requested for the eight Barisan-appointed DBKL advisory board members to step down, and Kuala Lumpur MPs to be on the board instead.

He said there was no moral justification for the present board members to hold on to their posts and they should make room for the elected representatives.

He added that MPs were not part of the DBKL decision-making under the previous administration.

His statement prompted advisory board member and Bandar Tun Razak Umno chief Datuk Rizalman Mokhtar to say that members had no issues with resigning from the board if they were asked to do so.

Rizalman said members’ appointments were done in a dignified manner and he appealed to the DBKL management to let members leave with dignity too.

The board’s MCA representative Ng How Doo said he would continue to serve the public until his term ends next year, unless there were instructions from the FT Ministry with recommendation from the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V for them to step down.

StarMetro reported on June 25 that the Federal Government had directed DBKL to suspend all meetings with its advisory board members until further notice.

Amin Nordin said DBKL had received the directive from the Prime Minister’s Department.

The current board members, a majority of whom are political appointees, were selected by the previous administration.

Based on the Rules and Regulations of the Advisory Board of the City of Kuala Lumpur 1989, the board must have 15 members, with the Federal Territories Ministry, Finance Ministry and the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) of the Prime Minister’s Department having one representative each, as well as two representatives from the Selangor government.

The remaining members must have knowledge of local government issues and are professionals with expertise on commerce or industries to represent the needs and interests of the local community.

The DBKL board currently has 12 people from the previous administration.

Out of them, eight are political appointees with four from Umno and one representative each from MCA, Gerakan and MyPPP.

The remaining members are one representative each from the Selangor government, EPU, the Federal Territories Ministry, Malaysian Institute of Architects and Real Estate and Housing Developers Association.

Members’ tenure will expire on Nov 30 next year.