More in sport


Saturday, 13 January 2018 | MYT 3:39 PM

Team Asian stage comeback in EurAsia Cup

SHAH ALAM: Team Asia staged a superb comeback to retain a slender one-point lead — 6½-5½ — over Team Europe heading into the Sunday's (Jan 14) singles session of the EurAsia Cup.

Defending champions Europe, who trailed the Asians 3½-2½ after the opening fourball contests, came out with their guns blazing at the start of Saturday's foursomes, claiming the first three points on offer.

Tommy Fleetwood-Henrik Stenson got the ball rolling on another rain-soaked day at the Glenmarie Golf and Country Club, beating S.S.P Chawrasia-Anirban Lahiri 3&2 before team-mates Paul Casey-Tyrrell Hatton and Matthew Fitzpatrick-Thomas Pieters delivered the next two wins to put the Europeans in control.

Casey-Hatton overcame Kiradech Aphibarnrat-An Byeong-hun 2&1 while Fitzpatrick-Pieters strolled to a 3&2 win against Poom Saksansin-Kang Sung-hoon.

But Gavin Kyle Green-Yuta Ikeda led the fightback for the Asians, coming back from two-down in the last four holes to defeat Rafa Cabrera-Bello-Alexander Levy (Spa-Fra) 1-up.

Like Gavin-Ikeda, Phachara Khongwatmai-Hideto Tanihara also registered their second win in as many days when they edged past Paul Dunne-Alex Noren 2&1 in a repeat of Friday's (Jan 12) fourball clash.

Li Haotong-Nicholas Fung completed the remarkable turnaround by gunning down Ross Fisher-Bernd Wiesberger 3&1.

There are still 12 points up for grabs in Sunday's singles with Team Asia now needing another five-and-a-half points to emerge as EurAsia Cup champions for the first time.



S.S.P Chawrasia-Anirban Lahiri (Ind) lost Tommy Fleetwood-Henrik Stenson (Eng-Swe) 3&2; Kiradech Aphibarnrat-An Byeong-hun (Tha-Kor) lost to Paul Casey-Tyrrell Hatton (Eng) 2&1; Poom Saksansin-Kang Sung-hoon (Tha-Kor) lost to Matthew Fitzpatrick-Thomas Pieters (Eng-Bel) 3&2; Gavin Kyle Green-Yuta Ikeda (Mas-Jpn) bt Rafa Cabrera-Bello-Alexander Levy (Spa-Fra) 1-up; Phachara Khongwatmai-Hideto Tanihara (Tha-Jpn) bt Paul Dunne-Alex Noren (Irl-Swe) 2&1; Li Haotong-Nicholas Fung (Chn-Mas) bt Ross Fisher-Bernd Wiesberger (Eng-Aut) 3&1